Data can be backed up using another LG NAS within the same network to safely store precious user data saved on the LG NAS through Rsync. Loss of important data due to the fault of the user, or damaged data due to errors, can be reloaded using restoration from backed up data.
- Data Backup using Rsync
- To back up data using Rsync, Rsync-client configuration on the target LG NAS and Rsync-server configuration on the source LG NAS are needed.
- [RSYNC-server Configuration]
- User may configure functions for data backup from another LG NAS within the same network.
- For data backup from another LG NAS within the same network, follow these steps
- 1) Click on the ‘Create’ button.
- A. Configure task name.
- This is an identifier to distinguish remote data backup service. The source LG NAS and target LG NAS must have a common task name. The name can be 32 characters or less, beginning with a letter, and the remaining characters may be alphanumeric characters, with the exceptions of ‘-’ and ‘_’.
- B. Input the User ID of the data manager.
- Caution) Users not registered to the LG NAS for data backup must refer to [Section 4. Add User] to generate a new user account.
- C. Input user password.
- D. Configure target directory to save backed up data.
- E. Select ‘Save’ to save.
- 2) Check ‘Enable’ for the Rsync server to activate a remote data backup service as a server.
- * Select ‘Edit’ to alter a configured Rsync server task.
- * Select ‘Delete’ to delete a configured Rsync server task.
- Caution) Deletion of a configured Rsync server task will not affect user information or data already backed up.
- [RSYNC-client Configuration]
- Users can configure functions for data backup to another LG NAS within the same network.
- 1) Select ‘Create’.
- A. Task Name
- Enter the same task name as configured for the Rsync-server.
- B. Target Server IP
- Enter IP address of the target LG NAS (Rsync-server).
- C. User ID
- Enter the same ID as configured for the Rsync-server.
- D. Password
- Enter the same password as configured for the Rsync-server.
- E. Click on the ‘Choose Directory’ button to choose the directory containing the data to be backed up. (Choose one of the directories in Rsync-client.)
- F. Configure data backup frequency.
- Data backup frequency can be selected from the options Once, Daily, Weekly or Monthly.
- Once: For a one-time backup only.
- Daily: Backup is performed daily at the scheduled time.
- Weekly: Backup is performed weekly at midnight on the scheduled day.
- Monthly: Backup is performed monthly at midnight on the scheduled day.
- G. Click ‘Save’ to save.
- (Caution) Clicking ‘Save’ is insufficient to run the Rsync client.
- 2) Check settings appearing on screen and select a task. By selecting ‘Sync’, the remote data backup service will begin and the progress percentage will be displayed. When the remote data backup service is successfully completed, the progress percentage will show 100 and a completion message will appear.
- Caution) Complete Rsync-server configuration on target NAS and complete all Rsync-client configurations on source NAS before selecting ‘Sync’. The machine may otherwise not function correctly.
- [Alteration of Configuration for Remote Data Backup]
- To begin alteration of configuration for remote data backup, select a task to be altered among those appearing on the screen and click ‘Edit’. After alteration is complete, click ‘Save’ to save changes.
- [Deletion of Remote Data Backup]
- To delete a configured remote data backup task, make a selection on the screen and select ‘Delete’.
- Caution) Deletion of a remote data backup task will not affect data that is already backed up.
- Restore Data Using Rsync
- The user’s damaged data can be backed up from another LG NAS containing the backed up data within the same network.
- For remote data restoration.
- 1) Select the name of a remote data backup task performed prior and select ‘Restore’.
- 2) Select the target directory to save backup data.
- Caution) When using remote data backup (Rsync client), if the source and target directories are identical, the default will be set to backup data and the source directory data will be updated.
- 3) Click ‘Restore’ to begin remote data restoration.
- The screen during data restoration will be identical to that during remote data backup.